Recent comments

Recent Content Updates

NHL Realignment Plans In Progress

Once again the NHL is trying to come up with a realignment of conferences/divisions.
The latest proposal would eliminate divisional play and create four conferences. Here are the proposed new conferences.

Conference 1
Carolina Hurricanes
Columbus Blue Jackets
New Jersey Devils
New York Islanders
New York Rangers
Philadelphia Flyers
Pittsburgh Penguins
Washington Capitals

Conference 2
Boston Bruins
Buffalo Sabres
Detroit Red Wings
Florida Panthers
Montreal Canadiens
Ottawa Senators
Tampa Bay Lightning
Toronto Maple Leafs

Conference 3 
Chicago Blackhawks
Colorado Avalanche
Dallas Stars
Minnesota Wild
Nashville Predators
St. Louis Blues
Winnipeg Jets

Conference 4 
Anaheim Ducks
Calgary Flames
Edmonton Oilers
Los Angeles Kings
Phoenix Coyotes
San Jose Sharks
Vancouver Canucks

While the two conferences out west seem to make sense to me, the two in the east seem very odd.  What stands out to me are the following...

Florida and Tampa Bay versus Montreal, Ottawa, and Toronto.
Columbus and Detroit NOT in the same conference.
New York Islanders and New York Rangers NOT  in the same conference as the Buffalo Sabres.

What are your thoughts on the proposed realignment? Comment below...

1 comment:

  1. To me, the Western Conference Divisions (Conference/Division 3 and Conference/Division 4)are fine, but if it had been up to me, the Eastern Conference Divisions would have been as follows:

    Conference/Division 1: Carolina, Florida, New Jersey, NY Islanders, NY Rangers, Philadelphia, Tampa Bay, Washington

    Conference/Division 2: Boston, Buffalo, Columbus, Detroit, Montreal, Ottawa, Pittsburgh, Toronto